Hume-Carnegie Museum

Tour the Hume-Carnegie Museum

The museum building was constructed in 1904, one of 2509 libraries built in the U.S in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centruries with money donated by philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. In 1996, after a complete restoration, it was re-opened as the Hume-Carnegie museum. It was made possible by funds donated by Mr. Horace Hume, a local businessman and entrepreneur who also built the replacement library.

Winter Schedule: 9 December through 24 February 

Hours: 1 to 4 pm Saturday 

For tours by appointment call (815) 539-8401

Books "Wild Bill Hickok", "150 Years of Mendota", and other titles are available for purchase.

Hume-Carnegie Museum is Handicap Accessible

Hume-Carnegie Museum
The Wild Bill Hickok Display

The Wild Bill Hickok Display

Memorabilia, artifacts, photographs, and books highlight the fascinating life of a man of local origin. He was a stagecoach driver, soldier, scout, lawman, gambler, showman, actor, and reputed to be deadly with a gun. Wild Bill got his name because of the many gunfights in which he was involved.

Photos & Documents

Photos & Documents

On display are photographic and document collections tracing the history of Mendota and the surrounding area tracing the growth of the community through the years.

The Music Room Display

The Music Room Display

The grand piano, said to have been played by a Wild Bill relative, is one of a number of musical instruments on display. A pump organ, a Victrola phonograph, and other instruments are also part of the exhibit.

Pendulum Clock

Pendulum Clock

A pendulum clock made in the 1800's in Germany was used by train conductors to check the time on their pocket watches to maintain train schedules.